A journey of Life

The last 22 weeks or 5.5 months has been the most unfamiliar and familiar experience of my life. The ever similar pregnancy symptoms that take over my body instantly, is mixed in with new symptoms I have never experience. It’s like driving down that road you use to drive everyday,the bumps and turns are all still imprinted in your memory box however it looks so different with all the houses and new buildings. It’s a completely new experience with a familiar feel, comforting and exciting it releases all senses and feelings in your body. I went from the familiar head in the toilet everyday to the new need of hot sauce on everything. Every smell and taste brings an unexpected twist to my mouth keeping me wondering if tomorrow I will feel the same about it.
My body has kicked it’s memory into full steam ahead and decided to expand as soon as conception. I am taking by how fast my belly decided to show itself this time leaving no room for guessing, and how my boobs decided to follow. My ever expanding belly is a wonderment not only for myself but for the girls who are ever so intrigued with how mommy’s body can take that shape, and how a person can live in there. we are constantly tracking the babies development weekly and finding objects in the house that resemble his size. The girls keep the amazement so alive I feel as if this is my first time ever experiencing this incredible journey. I find myself more amazed with the whole process this time around then I have before. I am living it through the eyes and mind of a 7 and 5 year old and this is perhaps the most intriguing thing ever. I am still so amazed what the body can do in as little as 9 months , I mean we are such complex creatures created so quickly. The body is an incredible machine, we are incredible.
As I turn the corner to half way my emotions are running at rapid speeds, I’m balancing joy and excitement with the nerves of starting over. My capabilities are questioned, new life is about to be my responsibility again and the challenging task of teaching and supporting is represented in new form once again. However with every movement this little soul gives me, ever kick and flip, I am quickly brought back to the place of complete love and joy to be having this experience all over again. I am completely in love with every part of his journey and can’t wait for the next chapter, and to welcome our son into our perfect family to complete our puzzle.

2 thoughts on “A journey of Life

  1. Beautiful Ashlie. And congratulations!!!!! How exciting. I still have a ton of baby boy clothes if you’re in need 🙂 here’s a website I loved during my last pregnancy. http://Www.birthwithoutfear.com So many awesome stories, photos and inspiration…..and how I ended up choosing a water birth. Jaxs birth story is on it. If you’d like to read it, I’ll send you the link.

    Call if I can help you with anything! Much lovr to your family! 503.679.2174

Leave a comment