Farewell Nica farewell!

Nicaragua, what can I say. It has proven itself to be one of the greatest places I have ever been along with one of the most hectic and stressful places. Nica grabs a hold and digs those hooks in deep keeping you guessing if your ever going to get to leave yet really sad when you click confirm.
About two days before we were suppose to hit the road and start our journey back we both decided that we may have been crazy enough to drive here but are not crazy enough to drive home. We have nothing else to prove we made it here, why play russian roulette twice. So the talk of flying was in order. We rented this house till the 15th so we will stay till then, giving us two more weeks to sort out the new plan of flying and getting CC rider and all our stuff home, should be plenty of time.
Well after booking our flights with the airline Spirit which I never heard of but they had really cheap flights, and really crappy hours to go with the cheap flights, that only fly on certain days generally starting at 1am. We either pay $60 for each checked bag or go bag less, after having to pay $30 each for our carry on and pay for our seats if we want to pick them, we decide to take nothing but two tiny carry on’s.
The decision to fly seems like a pretty easy one, however the decision to fly after you drove to Nicaragua with all your stuff lends itself to being not exactly the easy button. For the past two weeks our lives have been engulfed in the finest most unorganized Chaos I have endeared. Of course this comes without saying that we pretty much dealt ourselves this fabulous hand of BS when we made that “easy” decision to fly home.
It was brought to our attention that CC only had a 30 day visa and we all have 90, which makes no sense to anyone however this makes sense to Nicaragua, I guess the van was suppose to leave Nicaragua after 30 days to renew, silly Van guess he forgot to take the trip across the border. Well this ridiculousness lead to 6 days of Cameron battling in Managua just to get one paper signed, which turned into a race to beat the date that the van needed to be in the shipping container to make the departure on the 15th, which we missed. So now CC must hang out in a container until further notice and Cam may not make the flight with us.
But to top all this off ChynaMae decided to get an ear infection, Lila decided to get sick and something decided to bite my face leaving me with a rash and half swollen face! So the girls and I said goodbye to Poneloya and made our way to Granada to spend our last 5 days with good friends and some peace and recovery before our journey home.
With all the challenges this journey provided, I can still hold my head proud and leave with a full heart for Nicaragua, the friendships and memories that where made are what we hold on to. I will take with me one of the greatest experience of my life, and forever look at the bond our our family created, we pulled together and created a world all our own. Chocolate Charlie was our canvas and we were the paintbrushes. Never knowing what was next but always ready to paint it. The strength in ourselves as a whole and as individuals is unmeasurable, we will conquer any mountain placed in front of us and pull thru any challenge stronger.
However this journey must end so another can start. Thank you all very much for your love and support throughout our adventure, you remained with us and kept home close and for this I am grateful for all of you. So for now I will say once again adios mi amigos and until next time. Much love to you all.

6 thoughts on “Farewell Nica farewell!

  1. I wish all of you a safe trip home!
    Ashley I have read all your blogs…… you need to write a book…..you definitely have a gift.
    You have shared the memories you have created in such a wonderful way.
    I look forward to hearing about many more….. and many hugs!
    love you all very much!
    auntie lynn

  2. That was a great description of you love for Poneloya and Nicaragua. Thanks for sharing…

    Poneloya DOES get it’s hooks in you…looking forward to returning again

  3. Great post Ashlie! I was wondering what was going on from just Cameron’s status updates.. I hope everything works out as best it can!! You guys are incredible and have been in our thoughts and prayers since we left. We look forward to the next time our families can be together.. Take care and say hi to everyone šŸ™‚

  4. I’ve been reading your blogs, which are incredibly written Ashley. I still can not figure out what happened to cause your face and jaw to swell. I must have missed something. Please write back so I know what happened. I look forward to seeing you all and wish you a safe trip back. I hope that Cameron and Chocolate aren’t too far behind. My love and best wishes to you all.

  5. My family and I are planning on driving down to Nicaragua in Aug 2013 and I wanted to ask you a few things. If you could please write me back at vnavit@aol.com I would really appreciate it. Thanks!

Leave a comment